Our Commitment to Safety and Quality

Stirling Hospital is committed to patient safety and the ongoing improvement of patient care. We have a comprehensive safety and quality program and are fully accredited using the National Safety & Quality Health Service Standards developed by the Australian Commission on Safety & Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC). 

Accreditation of health services is a process through which we undergo a thorough external review against national and international standards in order to continuously improve quality of care and patient safety.


The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare in collaboration with the Australian Government, states and territories, private sector providers, clinical experts, patients and carers. The primary aims of the NSQHS Standards are to protect the public from harm and to improve the quality of health service provision. The eight NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health services.


The Clinical Governance Standard aims to ensure that a clinical governance framework is implemented to ensure that patients and consumers receive safe and high-quality health care.

This standard aims to ensure that there are systems in place within health service organisations to maintain and improve the reliability, safety and quality of health care. This standard, together with the Partnering with Consumers Standard, set the overarching requirements for the effective implementation of all other standards. The Clinical Governance Standard recognises the importance of governance, leadership, culture, patient safety systems, clinical performance and the patient care environment in delivering high quality care.


The Partnering with Consumers Standard aims to create health service organisations in which there are mutually beneficial outcomes by having:

  • consumers as partners in planning, design, delivery, measurement and evaluation of systems and services
  • patients as partners in their own care, to the extent that they choose.

The Partnering with Consumers Standard recognises the importance of involving patients in their own care and providing clear communication to patients. This standard, together with the Clinical Governance Standard, underpins all the other standards.


The Preventing and Controlling Healthcare-Associated Infection Standard aims to improve infection prevention and control measures to help prevent infections, and the spread of antimicrobial resistance through the appropriate prescribing and use of antimicrobials.


The 5 other standards are also based on a risk mitigation approach that focuses on implementing the NSQHS Standards as routine practice and identifies healthcare staff responsible for specific actions. They are:

  • Medication Safety Standard
  • Comprehensive Care Standard
  • Communicating for Safety Standard
  • Blood Management Standard
  • Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration Standard



A Clinical Care Standard is a small number of quality statements that describe the care patients should be offered by health professionals and health services for a specific clinical condition or defined clinical pathway in line with current best evidence.

They include:

  • Cataract
  • Colonoscopy
  • VTE
  • Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain
  • Management of Peripheral Intravenous Catheters
  • Delirium
  • Sepsis
  • AMS
  • Acute Anaphylaxis


Patient Pre-Admission Information

Your support is invaluable to us

All support goes a long way!